Pretreatment Excellence Award

Pretreatment Excellence Award


The Pretreatment Excellence Award is given by Maine Water Environment Association (MeWEA) to recognize an industrial facility which is an indirect discharger in Maine who has made exemplary efforts towards meeting the requirements of a State/National Pretreatment Program permit, State or local authority control mechanism.  This award also considers the extra effort and originality that has been involved in system design and/or operations, as well as the efforts made by individuals or the organization to meet internal environmental stewardship and sustainability goals. The following are the general qualities that determine the recipients of this award.

Demonstrates exemplary design, operation and maintenance of the facility.

Demonstrates a commitment from the business to comply with their pretreatment permit through continuous improvement projects.

Demonstrates a professional and open relationship with regulatory agencies and permitting authorities at all times.

Provides service to the profession through participation outside of the home business, assistance to others with problems, etc.

Demonstrates creativity in operations and problem solving.

Not in Significant Non-Compliance in the past 12 months.

Awarded at: Maine Water Environment Association Fall Convention (September)
Nomination Deadline: First Friday in July
Award Decision: Third Friday of July (Maine Water Environment Association Executive Board Mtg)
Contact Person: Dan Welch (Chair, Maine Water Environment Association Pretreatment Committee)
Phone: (207) 286-3183

Nomination Form: Pretreatment Excellence Award Nomination

Past Recipients

2014: (Not awarded)
2014: Inland Technologies International, LLC for the Portland International Jetport facility
2013: Savage Services; Lewiston, ME (formerly Savage Safe Handling)
2012: Pat Jackson, Inc.
2005: AVX Tantlum Corporation
2004: Sermatech International, Inc.
2002: Nichols Portland
2001: Osram Sylvania
1999: Performance Products Painting
1997: Phillips-Elmet
1996: Southern Maine Industries
1995: Eastern Fine Paper
1994: Guy Gannett Publishing
1993: Keyes Fibre
1992: The Irwin Company
1991: Jet Line Environmental Services