MEWEA Committee Overview

The Maine Water Environment Association is currently comprised of fourteen active Committees.  These are listed below. Click on blue links to learn more:

  1. Residuals Management
  2. Government Affairs
  3. Awards
  4. Collection Systems
  5. Communications
  6. Conventions
  7. Laboratory
  8. Personnel Advancement
  9. Pretreatment
  10. Operations Challenge
  11. Safety
  12. Membership
  13. Public Relations
  14. Young Professionals
  15. Website and Social Media


Together with the President, Vice President, Second Vice President, and Treasurer, the Chairs of these Committees form the Association’s Executive Board.

The Chair of each Committee, or their designee, represents that Committee at the Association’s Monthly Executive Board Meeting, reporting to the Board on current activities and tasks. Chairs are responsible for developing the annual budget for their committee, recruiting new members, and periodically providing an article for the MEWEA Quarterly Newsletter.

In addition to these Committees, a number of non-voting representatives participate in Monthly Meetings, including:

  • * A representative from the Maine Department of Environmental Protection
  • * A representative from Maine’s Industrial dischargers
  • * A representative of the Joint Environmental Training Coordinating Committee (JETCC)
  • * A representative from the Maine Municipal Association


Minutes from MEWEA meetings are posted online, and meetings are open to all members.