Charles Perry Collection System Award

Charles Perry Collection System Award

Charles Perry set the standard for wastewater utilities in the State of Maine by utilizing methods that were cutting edge for the time. Mr. Perry was one of the first employees of Wright Pierce Engineering, worked for Brunswick-Topsham Water District and finished his career as the Superintendent of Sewers for the City of Portland.

Mr. Perry was one of the first to use trenchless technology, recognize the value of televised inspections of collection systems, implement preventative maintenance for collection systems and was the first in the state to use Hydro-Brakes for CSO remediation. Most importantly, Mr. Perry was dedicated to his crew and his work. He freely gave up his time and was always willing to help by providing advice, suggestions and recognizing the commitment his crew gave to their work.

The Charles Perry Award is given annually by the Maine Water Environment Assocation to a Collections Systems Operator, Municipality, District, Private Waste Water Collection System, engineer or educator in Maine. This award is given to recognize the outstanding efforts of the collection systems’ personnel for the excellence in Management, Operations and Maintenance of that collection system. While all facilities strive for compliance, this award recognizes the extra effort and originality that is put forth in the operations of a wastewater collection system to reduce the environmental impact on that community.


Awarded at: Maine Water Environment Association Fall Convention (September)
Nomination Deadline: First Friday in July
Award Decision: Third Friday of July (MEWEA Executive Board Mtg)
Contact Person: Dave Beauchamp (Chair, MEWEA Collection Systems Committee)
Phone:  (207) 897-3348

A nomination form for the Charles Perry Award is available here 


Recent Recipients

2016: Philip Tucker, Sanford Sewer District
2015: Phil Pickering, Ogunquit Sewer District
2014: Mark Holt, Town of Jay Sewer Department
2013: Jeff Boule, Lewiston Public Works
2012: Tim Haskell, York Sewer District
2008: Gary Howard, Scarborough Sanitary District
2002 Ron Kidder & Peter Spencer-Brewer
2001: Houlton Water Company
2000: Tony Gordon, SMCC