Alfred E. Peloquin Award


Established in 1991 as the NEWEA Operations Award, this award was renamed the Alfred E. Peloquin Award in 1992.

The award is given annually to an individual from each of the six New England states who has shown a high level of interest and performance and wastewater operations and who has made a significant contribution to the wastewater filed in such areas as improvements to the environment, cost-effective plant operations, public relations, innovative process control, industrial pretreatment, training, Association contributions, and related activities.

This award is named in honor of NEWEA’s former Executive Director in recognition of his initiatives in training programs for wastewater treatment and his many years of dedicated service to the New England Water Environment Association.

This award is intended to be presented at each affiliated State Associations Annual Meeting by an officer to the New England Water Environment Association.

Nomination forms should be sent to Maine’s NEWEA State Director.


Awarded at: NEWEA Annual Conference (January)
MEWEA Nomination Deadline (to NEWEA): June 1
MEWEA Executive Board Vote: no later than the May meeting
Nominations Due to Maine NEWEA State Director: end of April (**NOTE: 2014 deadline is May 14!**)
How to Nominate: Email completed Nomination Form to Peter Goodwin
Click Here for Nomination Form

Recent Winners

  • 2014: Scott Firmin (Portland Water District)
  • 2013: Al Jellison (City of Bangor)
  • 2012: Mike Hanson (Sanford Sewerage District)
  • 2011: Chuck Applebee (City of Gardiner Wastewater Treatment Facility)
  • 2010: Jim Fitch (Woodard & Curran)
  • 2009: Jeff McBurnie (Soil Prep)